What Are the Holy Books of Hinduism?

The most holy of the Hindu books is written in Sanskrit and is referred to as the Vedas. Other holy scriptures in Hinduism are called the Upanisads, the Smrutis, the Puranas, the Ramayana and the Mahabharata.

The scriptures of the Vedas are meant to guide Hindu believers in their daily lives. Some of the other holy works and books of Hinduism are stories and epic poems. The Vedas and these other works are further divided into two sections. The majority of the Vedas are considered the Shruti, which is translated to “that which is hard.” The Smriti, or “that which is remembered,” are traditional texts including stories such as the Ramayana.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *